Aarhus University Seal

Else Marie Friis receives the Lapworth Medal

Professor Emerita Else Marie Friis receives a medal for her significant work in palaeontology

Shortly before Christmas, The Palaeontological Association announced that Professor Emerita Else Marie Friis from the Department of Geoscience has received The Lapworth Medal.

The medal is the most prestigious award given by The Palaeontological Association. It is given to a paleontologist who has made a very significant contribution to the science of paleontology through a significant amount of research and service to the scientific community.

Earlier this year, she was also made an honorary member of the Portuguese Paleontological Society due to her pioneering research. 

The department congratulates Professor Else Marie on this well-deserved honour. We are proud of her achievements and the award of The Lapworth Medal reflects the high caliber of knowledge and expertise our department brings to the forefront of research.

You can read more about The Lapworth Medal here  and see the list of previous recipients here