Department of Geoscience is a department of the Faculty Science and Technology (ST) at Aarhus University. Its establishment in 1961 as Department of Earth Sciences was based on the appointment of the first professor in geology, Today professor Søren Bom Nielsen is head of the department.

We research widely within the geoscience subjects on a high international level and offer research-based teaching in most geoscience topics. Our Master’s degree program includes Geology, Geophysics and Technical Geoscience (engineering).